ATA History

Find a Translator or Interpreter
Search for:

ATA History

ATA, founded in 1959, is the largest professional association of translators and interpreters in the U.S. with over 10,000 members in more than 103 countries. ATA's primary goals include fostering and supporting the professional development of translators and interpreters and promoting the translation and interpreting professions.

Charter Members

Ms. Ernestine Abraham
Mr. Robert L. Addis
Ms. Ottilie Baer
Mr. Arthur E. Baumgart
Mr. Lewis Bertrand
Mr. Carl V. Bertsche
Mr. Hugh E. Blair
Mr. Pierre E. Blanche
Ms. Birute Blazevicius
Ms. Phyllis L. Bolton
Ms. Freda B. Brown
Mr. Thomas E. Burton
Mr. Karl L. Carlin
Dr. Irving Elman
Mr. Henry Fischbach
Mr. Fred D. Franklin
Dr. Kurt Gingold
Dr. Alexander G. F. Gode
Ms. Helen Hasselriis
Mr. Ludwig Hausner
Mr. Leon Jacolev
Ms. Christel Kappes
Dr. Rudolf F. Lang
Ms. Ruth Levy
Mr. John B. Mampaey
Ms. Anna J. Merritt
Mr. Mario Minafra
Dr. Henry F. Mins
Mr. Leonard E. Mins
Dr. Armin Moskovic
Ms. Haya Murray
Mr. Heinz Norden
Ms. Ruth Norden Lowe
Mr. Arthur A. Palen
Ms. Renée M. J. Pfister
G. S. Sharon
Mr. Charles M. Stern
Mr. Arthur Tannenbaum
Mr. Carroll Toepffer
Mr. Willard R. Trask
Dr. Zoya Yurieff

Honorary Members
Honorary membership may be conferred upon individuals who have distinguished themselves in the translation or interpretation professions by a vote of two-thirds of the Board of Directors. The total number of living honorary members shall not exceed twenty at any one time, and not more than two may be elected in any one year.

Ms. Celia Bohannon
Ms. Lillian Clementi
Dr. Nicholas Hartmann
Ms. Muriel M. Jérôme-O'Keeffe
Dr. Peter W. Krawutschke
Mr. Freek Lankhof
Ms. Ann Macfarlane
Ms. Rosemary G. Malia
Ms. Patricia E. Newman
Mr. Glenn H. Nordin
Dr. Jiri Stejskal
Dr. Jost O. Zetzsche


Learn More